The Perils of Drunk Driving

DUI – driving under the influence, is generally known as OVI—operating a vehicle under the influence in Ohio. When driving in Ohio the limits for committing the offense varies according to ages. If you are a driver under the age of twenty-one you must not be caught with more than .02% blood alcohol content. If you are over twenty-one the limit is .08% and if you drive a commercial vehicle, you are not allowed to drink more than .04% of alcohol before driving. Needless to say, by not drinking at all you certainly drive and perform better and you greatly lessen your chances of being stopped by police or Sheriffs.

Consequences and Punishment

If you live in Ohio and you do indeed commit an OVI offense, you might serve anything from three days to six months in jail, even for a first offense. You will likely be signed up for a driver intervention course which lasts for three days and teaches you the disadvantages and consequences of driving drunk. It is designed to reeducate you so that you learn the perils of driving under the influence. If your blood alcohol content is over .17 you will serve at least six days in jail, your license could be suspended for anything from six months to three years and you will be fined anything from $250 – $1,000. There is also a reinstatement fee to get your license back and that will cost you $450. Doesn’t seem worth the costs does it, especially when drunk driving increases your chances of hurting or killing another driver or pedestrian. Statistics consistently show that drunk driving tends to affect innocent bystanders more often than it affects the drunk driver themselves.

If you commit a second OVI you will most certainly need a DUI attorney in Cincinnati, or wherever you are in Ohio, to represent you. A second offense will generally get you a minimum of ten days in jail, you will have to wear an electronic tag, your fine will rise from $250 minimum to $350 minimum, with a maximum of $1,500. Your license could be suspended for anything from one to five years and your vehicle could be immobilized for ninety days. You will also be required to join the driver intervention program.

Call Levy Law Offices to find out how to locate a DUI attorney in Cincinnati. Their services cover all manner of legal incidents.

 

Be the first to like.

Be Sociable, Share!
    Shares
    Share This