Understanding Laws That Apply To Auto Insurance In Tyler, TX
Drivers are required by law to acquire Auto Insurance in Tyler TX that fulfills at least the state minimum. This minimum is referred to as 30/60/25 coverage. It covers $30,000 per injured individual, a maximum of $60,000 for each accident, and $25,000 to cover property damage. The coverage does not cover all probabilities such as the property of the at-fault driver or their curative expenses. Some accidents could produce more damage and medical costs than that of those covered in the policy, and drivers are advised to seek additional policies.
Penalties of Non-compliance
The first offense for no insurance incurs fines that range between $175 and $350. Any additional offense generates fines between $350 and $1,000.; drivers with second offenses or beyond lose their driving privileges, and their automobile is impounded. Drivers who are caught driving without a license and automobile insurance receive fines with a maximum of $2,000 and 180 days in county lockup. Any accident in which serious injuries or fatalities occurred that include at-fault drivers without insurance result in $4,000 in fines and a one-year jail sentence.
Auto insurance carriers are required by Texas law to report any lapses or cancellation of insurance policies to the DMV. Any drivers who are reported will receive fines based on the number of previous offenses and are notified by mail. The only exceptions to this rule are drivers who acquire insurance through another carrier on the same day that coverage ended for their preceding policy. Proof of the ending and starting dates for both policies are required to eliminate fines and should be faxed or emailed to the DMV immediately.
Who is Covered Under the Policy?
This is another significant consideration when acquiring Auto Insurance in Tyler TX. By law all licensed drivers within a given household that could drive the vehicle must be listed on the policy. Automobile owners with teen drivers cannot guarantee that he or she will not drive the vehicle and are required to list them as a driver. Any accidents, that involve the vehicle in which a driver who is not listed on the policy, are not covered and are the full responsibility of the owner under the Texas financial responsibility law. Drivers who wish to inquire about this law or coverage may contact Kit Parkhill Insurance Agency.